Eisenhower Fellowships Names 10 Mid-Career American Leaders as 2020 USA Fellows

  • 2020 usa fellows

Eisenhower Fellowships has selected 10  accomplished mid-career professionals from the worlds of education, finance, the arts, and technology to travel overseas in its 2020 USA Fellowship Program.


Beginning in spring 2020, these diverse American leaders will travel independently to one or two countries overseas, broadening their horizons as they pursue individual projects that will generate lasting impact in their communities. These USA Fellows will meet with Eisenhower Fellows abroad, unlocking a lifelong connection to an influential global network of likeminded change agents.


“These dynamic young doers join a vast network of Eisenhower Fellows who for more than six decades have used creative, collaborative solutions to address global challenges,” said Eisenhower Fellowships Chairman Robert M. Gates, former U.S. secretary of defense.


From the creation of a national community of gardeners to support healthy ecosystems, to addressing the twin challenges of homelessness and public health, the 2020 Eisenhower USA Fellows will travel to countries across Europe, Asia, Africa and the South Pacific to advance real change here at home in the United States.


“In a time of growing nationalism and retrenchment in many countries, I am confident these outstanding leaders will use their time overseas to build new bridges of understanding and then bring back and apply what they learn to better their communities,” said Eisenhower Fellowships President  George de Lama.


The 2020 Eisenhower USA Fellows are:


Mohamed Abdel-Kader | Washington, DC

Executive Director, Stevens Initiative, Aspen Institute


Natalia Crujeiras | Miami, FL

Executive Director of Cultural Affairs, Miami Dade College


Sandy Fernandez | New York, NY

Director, North America, MasterCard Center for Inclusive Growth


Margaret Fry | San Francisco, CA

Medical Director, Pediatric Service Line, Palo Alto Medical Foundation


Rachel Greenberger | Boston, MA

Director, Food Sol, Babson College


Christopher Gruits | Philadelphia, PA

Executive and Artistic Director, Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts


Matthew Rader | Philadelphia, PA

President, Pennsylvania Horticultural Society


Timothy Reeves| St. Louis, MO

Assistant Treasurer and Director of Investor Relations, Emerson Electric


Anita Watkins | Raleigh, NC

Director of Strategic Innovation, UNC REX/REX Health Ventures


Kuliva Wilburn | Chicago, IL

Chief Executive Officer and President, Wilburn Strategic Solutions

Share this article: